jump to navigation

Black bean, sweetcorn and avocado salad November 27, 2009

Posted by Helen in salad.
trackback

This is my favourite kind of meal, and the kind I can only really have when my husband isn’t home. He’s a carnivore and sees a meatless meal as lacking an essential component. But this colourful and zesty salad is my idea of a perfect supper, especially accompanied by a bowl of corn chips. I know it’s very summery and not at all seasonal, but it’s what I was craving tonight. I got the basic recipe from one of the food magazines (I can’t remember which), but have adapted it and added extra things I like.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients
1 ripe avocado, cut into chunks
2 sweetcorns
3-4 spring onions, chopped
400g black beans (tinned or in a carton)
200g cherry tomatoes, halved (I used baby plum tomatoes this time as they looked much riper than the cherry toms)
100g sharp cheese, cubed
A generous handful of chopped fresh coriander

For the dressing:
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tbsp Tabasco sauce (Chipotle Tabasco, if available)
Juice and zest of 2 limes
1 tbsp sherry vinegar
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

Boil the sweetcorn until done. Allow it to cool and then slice the kernels off in big pieces.

Mix together with all the other salad ingredients.

Mix together all the dressing ingredients and toss the salad well.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

