jump to navigation

Bourbon balls December 18, 2009

Posted by Helen in chocolate, confectionary, cookies.
trackback

I’d forgotten all about bourbon balls until I was given a cookbook published by my old school in Louisiana. Then it all came back to me! Back then, you couldn’t go to a Christmas party anywhere (in Shreveport, at least) without seeing a huge platter of bourbon balls on the table. I think there was some sort of a rule about it. So, I give you – the bourbon ball.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients
1 cup (109 g) vanilla wafer crumbs (I used Marie biscuits)
1 cup pecans (109 g), finely chopped
1 cup (100 g) icing sugar, sifted
2 Tbsp (11 g) cocoa powder
1/8 cup (30 ml) bourbon
7 ½ Tbsp (111 ml) light corn syrup (I used golden syrup)
More icing sugar for rolling the balls in

Mix together the biscuit crumbs, icing sugar and cocoa powder. Blend in the bourbon and golden syrup. Shape into 1″ balls and roll in the icing sugar. Refrigerate and enjoy!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment